Travel Destination: Guam

IMG_6473.JPG

Traveling to Guam has been my family’s go to destination lately.  I know I know, you might be rather skeptical about going to Guam because there is nothing to do there, but I am about to prove you wrong.  Give this tiny little island a chance and you will be surprised with what’s in store for you.  Good food, great shopping finds, and the beaches are just fantastic.  Shopping and taking care of kids don’t go hand in hand really, but I found a compromise here in our itinerary in Guam.

 

What you need to know:

  1. Everywhere you need to go takes only about 10 minutes in Guam, including the airport.
  2. Guam is two hours ahead of Manila.
  3. It is a sin to go to Guam and not eat at Proa and Churrasco.
  4. Kmart is open 24 hours (for some last minute shopping)
  5. It is also a sin to be on a diet when visiting Guam because you will surely be missing out on a lot of really good food.
  6. Guam is not over populated.  There are only few tourists at the beach which I really love, and the malls are not crowded ( we went during Holy Week)

 

Our Hotel:   Westin Resort Guam    (105 Gun Beach Rd, Tamuning, 96913, Guam)

The hotel is conveniently located at the center of the city.  Just go to the basement and you have an easy access to the beach.  Walking distance to DFS galleria as well as the restaurants recommended on tripadvisor and other food blogs.  The hotel rooms are quite spacious and very clean, and the beach view  is spectacular   aagh!  I want to go back already!

We have tried the Outrigger Beach Resort on our previous visit,  located along the beach as well and just right in front of the DFS Galleria but I love the Westin Resort more because the rooms are so much cleaner and the pool and beach view are so much lovelier.

Airline of Choice:  United Airlines 

I find the schedule of United Airlines perfect when traveling with my son because the flight schedule of Philippine Airlines to Guam is at 10:55pm,  I wouldn’t dare catch a red eye flight with a kid to save myself from unnecessary stress. Not yet at least.

 

Don’t forget to check out our itinerary. Thanks!

 

Leave a comment