Separation Anxiety: First day Blues

I just dropped off my son from school today and just visualizing the last facial expression I saw of him crushes my heart.  I felt so sad and insecure at first because I don’t think any other student is even remotely  crying.  But then I realize, so what, who cares!  What is more important is for me to give my child what he needs which is just to be there and give him moral support.  Chances are, he will get overcome his fears IN HIS OWN TIME.

  1. Talk to him.  I ask my son why he cries and his answer was ”  because I want to be with you.”  Separation anxiety kicks in, and all I could do is to assure him make him feel safe.
  2. Do not get mad.  What he needs from you right now is your assurance.  I told him,     ” I know you are afraid to go to school , but I will be right here waiting for you until you come out.”  ” It is ok to cry, I will wait until you are ready.”
  3. Give him a little bit of power ,  let him know that he still has control over the situation.  Ask him what time he wants to go in.  Bribing works too.
  4.  Be firm.  Once he decides to go in,  there is no turning back.  He will want to hug and kiss you again or he will try to bargain and stall.  Do not be deceived by their tactics.  Kiss and leave.
  5. Pray with him.  I let him visualize that Papa Jesus and His best guardian angels are right beside him to protect him and give him courage.  I let him imagine that they have wings and armors to shield him from his fears, troubles and any other bad elements.  I also told him about this poem:

IMG_6641

Footprints in the Sand

One night I dreamed a dream.
As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.
Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.
For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,
One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,
I looked back at the footprints in the sand.
I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,
especially at the very lowest and saddest times,
there was only one set of footprints.

This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.
“Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,
You’d walk with me all the way.
But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,
there was only one set of footprints.
I don’t understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me.”

He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you
Never, ever, during your trials and testings.
When you saw only one set of footprints,
It was then that I carried you.”

 

Hope this helps.  I am glad to report that my son is not crying in the morning anymore, he has adjusted well in school already.  YEY!

 

Leave a comment