Hatchimals: To Buy or Not To Buy?

That is the question.

My three year old daughter came upon the Hatchimals through a Youtube video and it got her hooked.  She would watch all the unboxing from different channels and she would watch it over and over again.   Then one day, we went to the toy store and she saw this elusive toy up close and personal. She yelled:  ” Hatchimals,  Hatchimals!!!”  and started grabbing two , one on each hand and headed to the cashier. Mind you, this toy costs P3,999.75 each and is almost always sold out, at one point, you have to preorder it at Toys R Us.  I told her we cannot buy the Hatchimals on impulse.  I said that if she earns enough points, then she can buy whatever toy she wants.  She started to cry and told me:  ” I have money, I have money!” , she opened her purse and handed me some crumpled play money.  Awww, How adorable!  and I almost fell under her spell!  She started crying but I have to stand firm.  We didn’t buy the Hatchimals.  Not yet at least.

Intriguing how each Hatchimals egg needs your help to hatch. Genius!  The lights in your pet’s eyes dictate what action you need to do.  You have to hold it, cuddle it in your hands, rub the heart, play with it and when it changes from purple to pink, it’s ready to hatch! The animal you will get is based on the colored speckled egg, the two possibilities are also on the cover of the toy.

189f94fd64f5e0d9066ae4481ee9624c4ce0ce30
https://d2duuy9yo5pldo.cloudfront.net/spinmastersupport/189f94fd64f5e0d9066ae4481ee9624c4ce0ce30.png

The Hatchimals for me are hands down the best toy for 2017, a marketing genius capitalizing on social media hype, and banking on the child’s ultimate power of charming her dad to buy whatever she wants.  The only downside I could think of is of course the price:  Too expensive!  And Hatchimals are collEGGtibles, so the child won’t stop with one.

Verdict:   I hereby admit that I am guilty of sucking into this Hatchimals black hole.  We bought our daughter her first Hatchimals Glittering Garden series with pink speckled egg, and hatched a green one with pink wings.  My alibi:  IT IS HER BIRTHDAY!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment