My Covid Scare

It all began when members of the family started getting sick. I immediately separated my kids from them to minimize exposure. After a few days, my nightmare began when I too began to have a headache and felt feverish for a day. I decided to isolate myself from my kids. Do I have COVID? Rapid tests kept showing negative results but why did we get sick?

I cried when I ate.

I cried when I slept.

I cried not because I felt helpless.

I cried because the heart longed for her children.

During those moments of solitude, one can only reflect about the tragedy or the comedy of my situation. See, I am OC to the core. My plan was ironclad. I equipped my home with a footbath, stocked up on face shields, masks, gloves, and alcohol in every corner of the room. I sterilize and disinfect round-the -clock. My husband and kids haven’t even stepped out of our home since March. I go to my office twice a week, only interacting with my parents and brother.

So,

we scheduled to take a swab test. Long story short, we all dodged the bullet as all family members turned out negative. I decided to complete the quarantine period because some questions still lingered in my mind.

But can you imagine the anxiety of being separated from my kids for more than 2 weeks? The mental stress of waiting and thinking of the worst case scenarios.

In retrospect, there were still flaws in my fortress of security protocols. Here are the things I’ve learned :

1. Determine the weakest link in your security measures and try to tweak it. There is always room for improvement.

2. Do not be in denial. Lessen the risk of exposure by reacting quickly. If someone has cough or sniffles or headache, separate immediately.

3. Get tested. We had our swab test in Chinese Gen. They have a drive thru facility for swab testing: regular (3-5 days) or pay extra with express VIP service (12-24hours).

4. Wash hands. Disinfect packages coming in your home. Sterilize utensils, cups and plates.

5. For people going out of the house: Separate their dish sponge. Take a bath immediately upon arriving.

6. Invest on a really good thermometer and essential oils for your peace of mind.

Promed Thermometer
Young Living Oils

I am so relieved that this is all behind me. I was so paranoid and very careful and yet sickness came knocking on my door. My advice is to make the necessary precautions but don’t forget to live our lives. Appreciate what we have. Live for the moment and live life to the fullest.

Lastly, be grateful for all the blessings we receive everyday. Smile and stay healthy.

Leave a comment